Karim Benzema Wins Ballon d'Or 2022

Karim Benzema has placed first in the Ballon d'Or for the first time in his career.

He is only the second player aside from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Ballon d'Or award since the year 2008.

Benzema's teammate Luka Modric won the award in 2018.

Sadio Mane, who moved from Liverpool to Bayern Munich last season, finished in second when Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne took third.

In a season where Carlo Ancelotti's team won La Liga and the UEFA Champions League, Benzema scored 44 goals in 46 appearances in all competitions.

The fifth Frenchman to win the Ballon d'Or since Zinedine Zidane (in 1998) is Karim Benzema. 

Zidane gave him the trophy in Paris.